#2 – I Turned 30 This Year

So sorry to be continuing in an orderly fashion… it is not on purpose.  I’m actually trying to turn over a new leaf and leave some of my anal-retentive tendencies behind, but… one step at a time right?!

Yes, that’s right!  I turned 30 on July 1st.  Halfway through the year, yet only a quarter of the way through life (bet you didn’t know I was planning on living to be 120 years old)!  I know everyone says that it is not a big deal to turn 30.  The typical retort to “Oh the big Three-O huh?” is “oh you know, just another day… just another year…”.  But actually, it IS a big deal.  Not the type of big deal that you’re thinking about though I imagine.  Getting ooold, leaving your 20s…

Leaving your 20s isn’t the problem, as fun as they were.  I’m actually quite ready to leave my 20s.  They were a BLAST!  I went to college, graduated from college, met my husband, had 2 kids, bought a house, traveled to a corner and a few middle sections of the globe, laughed a lot, drank a lot, cried a lot (which I love to do, but that’s another topic), grew a lot, and so very much more.  I accomplished a very commendable amount of “stuff” during my 20s, and I am ready for the next 10 years of fun, excitement, growth and accomplishments.  It’s clear that leaving my 20s is not the big deal here.

And getting ooold?  What is old really?  You’re only as old as you feel.  Or is it as you look?  I mean my hair is going gray faster than I can shuffle the brown ones around to cover the new wiry pigment-less ones.  I’ve been pruning myself somewhat obsessively (no thanks to Beautiful Princess Aunt Dara).  And I totally check out the 20-something girls wondering if there’s anyway I still look that good, then I remember that I’ve had 2 kids and haven’t made the time to do one single crunch in like 3 years, so how could my stomach possibly be as flat as theirs.  But it’s ok, because there really is an art to sucking it in, but the challenge is lasting through a whole cocktail party with the same profile.  No, none of that bothers me at all about turning 30.

It’s wondering if you’re making the most out of your life, because it has become abundantly clear to me that I have entered warp speed, and life is about to start passing me by faster than I could ever imagine.  You’ve all heard your parents and grandparents talk about how time just starts flying by as you get older, and can you believe it?  They were right?  So good job elders, 1 point for you.

My friend Nicole and I were talking over a pint just a few days ago about how we think that blogging is a product of our age, and of course the world we live in.  But how many late 20s and 30-somethings have started blogs recently?  Or maybe it’s not just blogs, maybe it’s yoga (I’m starting a class in a couple weeks… ha ha!  I’m reading the irony as I type away), and other new hobbies that people our age are getting into.  But the point is, people our age are starting to feel “settled” and that leaves us a bit unsettled, especially our Martian counterparts.  We settle down with kids, marriages, homes – LIFE – and things start to get a little lackluster.  So we start looking for ways to brighten our auras and re-energize.

I don’t really worry too much about whether or not I am making the most out of my life or not, because I truly know I am. I have beautiful children, I mean really beautiful.  I just ran the World Dragon Boat Racing Championships, which was an unbelievable feat.  I have what I consider to be a very successful marriage.  And I focus on today, the here and now.  I don’t have everything I want, but I have everything I need.  I don’t do everything I want to do, but I do enjoy everything I do.

So, that’s it, I turned 30.  It’s a big deal when I break it down, but really… it’s just another day… just another year.

One thought on “#2 – I Turned 30 This Year

Leave a Reply

