#8 – I need an outlet/hobby

Someone asked me recently “what does Christine Canevari do for fun?” and I was surprised by my lack of an answer. The immediate things that came to mind were the things that used to be what I do for fun like skiing, paddling, working out, bar hopping, etc. But I realized I couldn’t steal the answer from my former existence. So I carried on with giving an answer and came up with “finding quiet time, reading and writing.” While that is a true answer, it’s not exactly what I do for fun, it is what I do to keep me sane…

I guess life has changed so much that what I do for fun now is drag my kids to the neighborhood bar in their Radio Flyer, chug a beer as fast as I can while saving Connor (1) from oncoming traffic and keeping Parker (3) from crying about his brother’s inability to share the goldfish, and then drag them back home as fast as I can to save myself from any further embarrassment. But that was all way too much to admit at that particular moment when questioned about my hobbies.

Writing this blog has become a great hobby for me. I have a lot more I’d like to be posting about, on a more regular basis, but I’m feeling a bit meek about publicizing something that turns out to be lame. I’m reading this awesome guy’s blog (jasongood.net) and since his life (minus being an actual comedian) is so parallel to my own (and millions of other people with 2 male toddlers), I feel like I would be publishing something completely inferior. So I am working through my issues and giving myself the following reality check: he’s not going to read your blog, so stop thinking he is and will publicly shame you for your amateur writing and less-than-witty quips.

So case-closed – back to posting. And since the holidays are basically over… oh yeah HAPPY NEW YEAR… I should have a few minutes to spare again.

Besides blogging, I plan to gain a couple more hobbies in the new year. Casey and I don’t make new year resolutions, we make annual goals. We both accomplished some, actually many, of our goals in 2011, so I’m confident in doing this again. So, one of my goals is to start 3 new hobbies in 2012. Here they are:

  1. Raising dragons. It seems exhilarating, and possibly lucrative in my particular line of work. We have a nice sized back yard, and when they start getting large (don’t worry, I’m not going to focus on the fire-breathing sort) then I could bring them to work and keep them in the warehouse with the boats. They ought to feel at home there because there are lots of boats named after their species, and even heads and tails meant to mimic them. Parker and Connor could learn some responsibility by being charged with poop detail, and they may just solve the feral cat problem on my block. Many benefits, can’t really see a downside to this hobby.
  2. Another hobby I’d like to pick up is taking an art class. Parker’s idea of coloring is picking a utensil, pointing to an object and instructing me to color it. This I don’t mind so much since I am particularly fond of coloring and staying in the lines is fairly easy, depending on the utensil. But when he instructs me to draw “Halloween” or “a bird” or any other assortment of creatures and scenes freehand… I’m basically still at the 4th grade level. It’s “fine art” to him, however when people come to our house and see “Parker’s drawings” they are often convinced that they are actually his (again… he’s 3… that’s a direct hit). So, I’d like to start producing some still-life vegetables and vases with serious shadows, so not only will our friends not be misled by my son’s lack of creative abilities, they will actually be impressed by my professional artistic skills.
  3. And the last hobby that I think will benefit my life in 2012 is drinking more than my husband. I don’t really mind being the designated driver because I feel good enough in the morning to berate him for drinking so much and still effectively take care of our kids. But recently I found how interesting it can be to learn about your evening from your partner the next morning. Feeling like ass (truly… what is that?) the next day is not the goal here though. It is learning how to maintain a solid stomach, staying hydrated to avoid headaches, get enough sleep to be able to start my day on time, but still get drunk enough to not remember what the hell I did, or how I got into my pajamas. It’s also a ploy to teach Casey some DD responsibility through force. On the flip side, we might just start spending a lot of money on cabs, I will gain a lot of weight and my 3rd hobby for 2012 will ultimately be sippin’ the fail sauce.

So, lots to do. Lucky for my 7 readers, that also means there will be lots to write about (in the case of #3, Casey will need to do the writing) and report back on. Positive and constructive feedback welcome.

One thought on “#8 – I need an outlet/hobby

Leave a Reply

