#3 – I’m changing jobs… and then some!

This is 1 of 2 topics that I haven’t written about from my initial list of potential blog topics. The other one is “There are only 2, maybe 3 people that REALLY know me, and even fewer that GET me… maybe it’s time to get ME out there”. That one is really what this whole blog is about – Me. I don’t know if it will shed some light on anyone, and I certainly don’t know if it allows anyone to get to know me better. But it has certainly showcased parts of my personality that only a few see regularly. So I’m not going to write about #11 since it’s continuously covered.

But, since it’s been so long since I last posted, I figured I might as well finish up the list before I attempt to be witty in another random area of my life.

This title is a bit misleading – but I was trying to stick to the original list of topics. What it should really say is “I changed jobs… like 7 months ago!” Back in October I found myself in a place where I could go no further. My former employer and I had completed our mission, a mission that had been in the works for more than 5 years. With this beyond us, it left a lot of volunteer board members burnt out and ready to move on. It left me burnt out and ready to move on. And the organization itself was burnt out and ready to hand over the reins. The time came for me to officially leave my post as Executive Director, a very bittersweet moment for us all.

Immediately following my departure, I joined the company who was inheriting the majority of my former company’s assets – namely the annual dragon boat races in Downtown Tampa. I went from the sole employee to 1 of 5.

And that’s it… I’ve been there ever since. The End.

Well that’s part of it… the 7 months since I made the corporate switch has been chock full of transition and change. I was riding a wave when I finished up the World Championships back in August. I felt like I was on top of the world and that I could accomplish anything. I had people complimenting me left and right and encouraging me to “do more with my life” (More than dragon boating? What more could there be…). I even went on a few interviews to explore my options in my new found glory. The options didn’t come despite my feelings of being a “shoe-in” more than once. Occasionally another opportunity would present itself to me, but never one that was the right fit. I was left feeling a bit let down by the 6 1/2 years of hard work I put in to what I thought was leaving me with a radiant resume, ready for anything. I was enjoying my new position, and still am, but felt like I could be and needed to be more than what I was doing.

Then I read a book.

While the book itself was just ok, full of typos and grammar mistakes, I was able to extract some really important messages from it. The most important of which I asked my husband to agree to “live by” with me… “I am exactly where I am supposed to be”. I and we are trying our darn-tootin-est to remember that motto and really live by it. I also picked up some guidance about the universe and I am starting to work on asking the universe to help me and my family achieve our goals.

When I think about my job, and I apply “I am exactly where I am supposed to be”, I can compare my position to putty – filling in gaps on my resume. That is the importance of what I am doing. I am also taking advantage of the people around me by learning from them, both the good and the bad.

When I think about our home, and ask the universe for some help making the decision to put it on the market, we are rewarded with an immediate (cash) offer once the decision is made.

Is this the right time to insert the phrase – if you are given lemons, make lemonade? Nah… I am not settling for what I’m given, I am creating my plan and asking for it to come true. Now you want to know what the plan is right? And you thought I would just give it to you… how else do I ensure you come back to my blog occasionally?

Cliff hanger…

One thought on “#3 – I’m changing jobs… and then some!

  1. Well done my dear…..I keep forgetting that I am in the place I’m supposed to be…feels like a turnstile I can seem to step out of!

Leave a Reply

